Fighting with the legends of yore!”

I love playing Dungeons and Dragons. It’s always good to get together with a few mates, drink a ‘bit’, eat junk and chuck dice around. We’ve been playing 3.5 edition for a long, long, long time now. Our campaign set in Monty Cooke’s Ptolus, run by our good friend Phil, has been going on for several years but even before that, I played a Dragonlance and have a lot of very fond memories of that too. We even go away for a week around Easter solely for the purpose of chucking dice around.

I often take inspiration from the characters we play and draw them. Our house features a ‘wall of death’ where deceased characters go with a description of their gruesome, grizzly and sometimes hilarious mode of death.

 

IMG_3105[1]

You might not be able to read them very well but one of them got killed by an electric door. Not sure how Mumm-Ra sneaked into the image but he looks mad about it…

I have since branched out a bit when it comes to D&D. I was incredibly resistant to try 5th edition. As someone who hates change, I was not all that comfortable with the idea. I knew how 3.5 works and although some of the rules are a ‘bit’ complex, it had always worked for us.

I tried it. I liked it! What a surprise!! It made a lot of concepts simpler and although I am not all that keen on the enforced backgrounds you have to pick, they are good if you have no idea how to generate a character with a history. It encourages people to play the character and not the stats. There was actual Roleplaying going on in the game, rather than just chucking dice and hitting stuff – don’t get me wrong, I like doing that too but it is good to have a chat with someone rather than braining them and asking questions later.

Either way, I find that I am no longer resistant to 5th edition and rather like it. I won’t become an avid follower of blogs about it, I won’t be listening in to podcasts either but this wasn’t something I did before. I like playing these games with my mates, I don’t want to hear how amazing it is from strangers on the internet (oh the irony)… I already know!

 

 

Leave a Reply

